• @Graeme: What are your thoughts on the double by W after the jump to 4H by S? My view is that it is at best pretty thin, and what is worse, siitng under the diamond bid, I would personally discount the DK points, making it even thinner. Also, as E, I think I would have taken it as a penalty double, and left it. I’ve never used a double at that…

  • How nice to get the top board on a flier… It was pretty obvious that we had the balance of points, and so with the initial double on my left, it looked a good bet that my double might confuse the opposition – and that’s apparently what happened.

  • AFAICS, this 4S contract can ONLY be made if S opens 1D, and only then because E only has a single trump. I played 4S from S tiwice, and each time E-W made CA, HA, SA and a D ruff, and I cannot see how that can be avoided unless the defence is asleep.
    If S opens 1D, it’s a whole different ball-game, and makes without trouble.
    @ Graeme: where am I…

  • Graeme, I really don’t know what to make of this computer; I bid 1NT over the 1S E call, amd partner computer left it. Of course as the cards lay I made 5, no trouble, but I cannot call 2H on this hand, can I? And […]

  • steamboatbill posted a new activity comment 1 month, 4 weeks ago

    Sorry, I realise that a 2C opener would not have been taken as a “natural” club suit bid.

  • steamboatbill posted a new activity comment 1 month, 4 weeks ago

    Ah well, I guess systems differ; we certainly didn’t follow that rule! It was only a suit bid if C had already been mentioned. And it worked well.

  • steamboatbill posted a new activity comment 2 months ago

    Thanks for your comment, Graeme, I should have expanded a little.
    I (used to) play 1S – 2D would indeed be forcing, but for one round only, where my 3D would be unconditionally forcing to game. I’m still in the dark as to how the computer read my 4C, though; in my school, it would have been a Gerber call for aces.

  • Well now…

    in my school, a 2D bid over the opener is an invitation only, not a force. So I bid 3D – to me, a game force, indicating a good opener.

    The simple 3S rebid wasn’t what I would have expected, seeing partner’s holding; I nevertheless sniffed a slam and ventured a little further, then after the 6N bid (which wasn’t what I was expecting…

  • On my hand, I see no excuse for X 4S, so if they make, we lose 420.

    That means if we go 2 down in 5D X, we only lose 300, so it’s a good sacrifice. In the event, on a heart lead, and with E sleeping with the SA, 5D X was made – at the second attempt, after letting the opponents make 3S first time.

  • I don’t know if I’d have made 4S without a favourable distribution, but it seemed a good gamble – and it paid off.

  • @Graeme: What in the world is partner (computer) thinking of when offered a chance to clear the AD off the table by trumping with 9 on the third round of hearts? That gives the contract to the opponents. My first attempt was a 2H rebid, which wasn’t exactly a roaring success, and then next I left the E-W pair in 2D – which they should never have made.

  • I cannot really figure thuis computer… I responded with a natural pre-empt of 3S, whic partner for some reason passed. Of course, I made four on the odd distribution, partly because W allowed the S8 to make..

  • @Graeme: I doubled on the basis if three QT, then led the KH which the computer followed, not with the three, but the two. Why was this, and what’s this about “signalling” when partner has, as in this case, a three-card suit anyway? All the talk of signalling with the H3 doesn’t seem to make sense.

  • Played twicw; oddly enough, E passed the first time, though N did put me up to 3N both times. A warning (which I forgot to observe the first time and went down one): ALWAYS try to develop your most valuable suit – here, of course, H. That gave me ten second time round, no fuss.

  • @Graeme: I just repeated the action with the same result. However, the scores are showing incorrectly – it keeps giving me “!/!” for taking the contract down one. I know that cannot be right from the comments above!

  • @Graeme:
    Can you please explain just WHY the computer doesn’t establish the spades? That’s the natural play here, surely! After all, the are two solid gold entries, and E has one honour, so it’s no sweat to clear the A, then make the remaining spades. I’ve tried this twice so far, and each time E has ignored the spades – going one light each time.

  • steamboatbill posted a new activity comment 4 months, 3 weeks ago

    I was a member of a bridge school which used to travel from Dover to London on the 06:03 train, and back on one fron London at 17:05, and a brilliant three hours or so of bridge could be enjoyed almost every day. One particular morning, my partner and I had managed to end in a 7 SX contract, missing the Kxxx of spades. We had all the other honours…

    • That’s a nice story, @steamboatbill. Good to do something fun on those ling commutes! A very good player once told me that good results come from a little bit of luck and a little bit of skill. You need them both, so well done with that singleton King.

  • No way against best defence can you hope to make more than 4 S. As it happens, I also made 6, due to the D return.
    @Graeme: Why would the computer lead back a D here – any idea? ‘Cos it’s obviously wrong!!

  • @Graeme:
    I can’t imagine how E-W allowed a 3 N contract to make(top score). That prompts the question: is it (or would it be) possible to show the bidding (if not indeed the play) for such odd results?
    I cannot work out how such a resulkt could have been achieved, unless it was a lead-dependent “freak”..

  • With an opening hnad, S is justified – in my school – in calling 2D. I’m not too sure about the N support to three – of course, even 2D goes down if E plays correctly – but it is a reasonable N sacrifice . After all, E-W could make a positive score in either H or S. Let’s face it, N has denied an opening hand, so are N-S really going…

  • Load More