Home | Learn

Bridge Lessons

Comments

JenSL64
JenSL64 says: Reply
JenSL64 says:
If North opens the bidding with 2 clubs, and East overcalls with 2 spades, what does South do? South can't follow the usual practice of responding with 2 diamonds, so should South bid 3 diamonds even though South only has 1 point! Please help this new learner. Thanks.
smm162
smm162 says: Reply
I would love it if you would address opening in 3rd and 4th seat. Prehaps you already have but I haven't found it. Always a puzzlement as to when to and when not to open, and how short is too short. I would love to hear your thoughts on this subject.
JillianG
JillianG says: Reply
Here’s a very basic question.
Bidding begins.
First bidder of a partnership does not have 12 HCPs so passes.
How many a HCPs does the second person in the partnership need to bid?
graeme
graeme says: Reply
Hi @JillianG,
As soon as any player opens the bidding, all the other players have a different role to play. You know about the opener but you need to keep in mind that there is only ever one opening bid. The opener's partner is the responder. The opposition player directly after the opener is the overcaller and the overcaller's partner is the advancer.

So we have opener, overcaller, responder and advancer.

Back to your question. If the first player in the partnership passes but the next player ( your opponent ) opens the bidding then your partner is the overcaller.

Phew! Does that make sense? I might have made it sound more complicated than it really is!

Have a look at #abc-bridge and that'll tell you all about the opening bids and responses. Then check out #competitive-bidding and that'll tell you all about overcalls and responses.

Please let me know if that makes any sense.

Mentioned in this comment: https://skybridgeclub.com/learn/abc-bridge/

Mentioned in this comment: https://skybridgeclub.com/learn/competitive-bidding/
gypssy
gypssy says: Reply
Reversals. Graeme please clarify this bidding for me. My partner and I have different understanding of the followings bids. If I have 16+pts and I open 1H, opps bids 1NT, and my P responds 2c , would my response bid of 2S be a reversal. Many thanks gypssy
carolmy
carolmy says: Reply
@tina, @graeme, in the situation where I am a responder, but there is a 1NT overcall, is a double still a penalty double, as it is if there is a 1NT opening? If I have 6-9 points, so cannot go to 2 level, but a reasonable number of cards in one suit, what do I do?
optusnet
optusnet says: Reply
Graeme can you please send me the latest lesson. On hearts. I wiped it off accidentally. Albert
Jo6030
Jo6030 says: Reply
Graeme can you please keep sending me the daily emails with your bridge hands. i do not know how but I seem to have discontinued to receive them. Josephine Jo6030
Log in to comment